top of page
  • Candy Crushie

SURFING AT DAHICAN BEACH

Updated: Feb 26, 2019

(And Other Activities To Do in Mati)

Holidays are the happiest because they mean 'travel days' for me. I went to Mati on Nov. 30, 2018. Weeks before, I excitedly invited friends to my planned trip and was supposed to travel with them; but you can already guess. So, instead of the planned 4-5 hours bus ride, I took a joiner’s van since I didn’t want to miss the famous Sleeping Dinosaur, and of course, to save time on my solo trip. Fortunately, while browsing Facebook the night before my trip, I found a joiners' L300 van. That was a first for me in an L3 since I’m used to joining more comfortable vans like Grandia, Hi-Ace, and the like. The ride was just a bit bumpy but everything else went fine.


“Dahican's 7-km crescent-shaped, creamy white beach is just so mesmerizing! It’s famous for swimming, surfing and skim boarding. ”

1. How to Get to Dahican Beach


a. By bus (4-5 hours)

Go to Ecoland Bus Terminal; fare is about P300. Alight at the Mati Bus Terminal. Take a tricycle to Dahican beach for 15-20 mins. Fare ranges from 40-100/pax depending on your haggling skills.

b. By van (2-3 hours)

On the left side of both Gaisano and Victoria Malls, there is a Van Terminal heading to Mati daily, usually from 5AM until 7PM. Fare is 250 to Mati Bus Terminal. Then, take a tricycle to Dahican.


2. What to See Along the Way

Welcome to Davao Oriental!

We left Victoria Mall at 8 AM. I really wanted to arrive at Dahican in the morning. Nevertheless, I accepted my fate that day. Two hours later, we had a photo op at ‘Davao Oriental’ welcome signage. Another half an hour later, we stopped over one of the key attractions in Mati, the Sleeping Dinosaur, located along Badas Point in Brgy. Dawan, a few kilometers from the City Proper. It’s a tranquil-looking peninsula with a land resembling a submerged sleeping dino.


3. Things to Do at Dahican Beach


We arrived at my most awaited place, the long-stretching Dahican beach! It instantly became my favorite. Its 7-km crescent-shaped creamy white beach is just so mesmerizing! It’s famous for swimming, surfing and skim boarding. We arrived at 12 noon after buying food from the market. The clear, aqua blue water was jaw-dropping. Alas, a reality that’s so much better than my expectation!


Dahican Beach, Mati

4. Where to Stay at Dahican


Our group stayed at Menzi Beach Park and Campsite.


Menzi's beachfront

Menzi is the most popular and the biggest resort along Dahican. Its clean and well-maintained beachfront is ideal for swimming and sunbathing. The water was dazzling blue and looked so magical to me (because I love the waters so much!) Menzi has wide parking and tent spaces. They have rooms, cottages, and tents for rent too. For a cheaper vacation, bring your own tent and only pay P150 for the tent space. Loud music isn’t allowed so it was very peaceful and refreshing.


We had our lunch as soon as we arrived at Menzi. All of us travelers had our own packed food. I bought mine from McDonald’s beside Victoria Mall (easy!). If you are traveling with a group of friends or family, it’s better to pack your home-cooked food because picnic is perfect by the beach! We rented a table, shared food, and ate joyfully together.


5. Surfing in Mati

Menzi's beachfront

While most chose to chill and swim, I proceeded to my purpose of visiting Dahican, to take my first surfing lesson! I couldn't contain my excitement. I made friends with 2 other joiners, who turned out to be taking surfing lessons too. We went straight to Amihan sa Dahikan Resort (just 5-minute walk from Menzi), with the friendliest surfing instructors as per online reviews, which we’ve proven true.


Our 2 surfing instructors, Kuya Wilson and another guy I wasn’t able to get the name of, were nice. During the lessons, I got to chat with them on the qualifications to be a surfing instructor and how to get a surfing license/certificate. I asked because I love the waters, and I’m addicted to water sports. I wish to be a surfing instructor too, hopefully in the future.



Paddling was really exhausting. :D


I had so much fun during the actual surfing time! I didn't expect to stand on the surf board in almost every attempt and even got the thumbs up from my instructor. He encouraged me further by saying that I have the potential to learn surfing faster. Haha I was so kilig. I asked, with my present skills, how many more lessons I should take to be able to play with the waves. They answered about 4-5 more. I can’t wait!


6. Other Tourist Spots and Activities in Mati


While Mati has a lot more to offer, my day tour cannot afford to indulge in them all. I’ll surely be back mainly for Dahican beach and surfing, but will definitely roam around and will not miss the ultralight plane ride on my future visits! Now, you guys pack your things up and experience Mati’s best. Who can resist a gorgeous beach!?


Tourist spots to visit/activities to do in Mati:

Viewing at the Sleeping Dinosaur - Badas Point, Brgy. Dawan Mati (free)

Surfing/Skim boarding/Swimming – Dahican beach

(surfing lesson - 500/hour; surf board rental– 150/hour, 500-up/day;

skim board rental – 100/hour, 300-up/day)

Flying on an ultralight plane – Brgy. Dahican (2,500/hour)

Island Hopping – Oak, Pujada and Waniban Islands (1,500-up/2 pax)

Pangyan Fallls – address (Entrance fee: 10)

Blue Bless Beach Resort Aqua Park – Sitio Pitugo, Brgy. Bobon (200-up/day)

Subangan Museum – Surigao-Davao Coastal Rd. (Entrance fee: 50)

Visiting the Baywalk area – Mati City Proper (free) Provincial Capitol of Mati – City Proper (free)

Mati City Hall and City Council Buildings – City Proper (free)


7. Breakdown of My (or Sample) Expenses


Air-conditioned Van to Davao City (GMall) – 250/pax = 500 back and forth

(If via bus from Ecoland – 300)

Tricycle to Dahican – 40-50/pa = 100 back and forth

Entrance fee at Menzi Resort = 50

Tent rental (good for 2-4 pax) = 300-400/night

Tent pitching (with own tent, along Dahican) = 120-150/tent

Table/cottage rental = 200-400/day

Food (2-3 meals) = 200

Surfing lesson (1 hour) = 500

Total (1 day w/o surfing) = approx. PhP 1,000

Total (1 day with surfing) = approx. PhP 1,500


8. On Travelling Solo


This wasn’t the only solo travel I had. I do it both here in the PH and abroad, which all turned out to be amazing. The most recent was my first solo travel abroad, in August 2018, to Indonesia, Singapore, and Malaysia. My 3-countries-in-3-days was indeed an achievement! It’s been my dream to travel solo abroad. Dreams come true, indeed. I’m used to traveling solo since the day I realized expecting too much from people and depending on their Yes’s and No’s won’t do me any good. Always remember your joy shouldn’t depend on anyone else around you. This is my secret to happiness. It’s a long process to learn. And now, I’m already at the stage of life where any cancellations won’t disappoint and hurt as much, or at all. Your joy from within should motivate you to create an identity of your own, an identity clothed in strength, liberty, love, and respect.


Traveling solo always makes me feel elated, as I am a spontaneous and a very adventurous person, knowing I could create magical moments of solo travels and new friendships, which are second to the most amazing part of all my solo trips. Of course, exploring nature or the new place has been the number one, as always. Cheers, my co-solo travelers!








"Travel the world sweetly."


 

For article/academic/content writing/blogging, questions/inquiries, reach me at:

E-mail: candycuanan@gmail.com Phone no.: +639198065188

Other services: ESL tutorial, Business English, TOEIC/TOEFL/IELTS review, Social media marketing, Event hosting, Exclusive tour guide

168 views0 comments
bottom of page